top of page
  • jwu102938

Milk Jug Hydroponics

Hi guys! This week I created a different hydroponics system design out of recyclable materials, and I'm excited to share it with you. My last post was on milk cartons and yogurt containers, but just in case you don't have any, here is how you can use a plastic milk jug and soft-drink bottles for the same purpose. I do have to say, this design takes more time than the milk carton design, and if you're young, please make sure your parents help you with any of the cutting!


Here are the materials you will need:

- 1 plastic milk carton

- 2 one-liter soda bottles

- 2 smaller plastic bottles (This is what I used, you can use four one-liter plastic

bottles, yogurt containers, the bottoms of plastic Dixie cups, etc)

- Washable marker

- Scissors or a knife (Please get your parents to help you if you're using a knife!)

- Soil

- Seedlings

- Hydroponic nutrient medium


I cut four holes into the top of the milk carton, starting with the smaller, square plastic containers. I placed the bottles on top of the milk jug, traced its outline with a black washable marker, and cut the encircled portion of the milk jug out. To prevent the small bottles from falling through, I created flaps on the top that help hold it in place. A picture at the end of this article shows a side view of the system just in case you want to have a reference for how big the small bottle cutoffs should be.


I did something similar for the rounded pop bottles. Because they were thinner in the middle and contained several horizontal ridges, I cut the hole slightly smaller than the widest point of the bottle. I don't need to cut out any flaps because the bottle can hold itself in place.



Before I transplanted the seedlings, I made sure to cut out several small holes (0.25 cm in diameter) on the bottom and sides of the bottles so that the hydroponic nutrient medium could seep into the soil and reach the seedlings. If you want to see a visual representation of what I'm describing, you can check out page 4 of this manual!


I had been sprouting some lettuce in a recycled Milano cookie container, and some of them were ready for transplantation. I put some soil in a large container with some liquid hydroponic nutrient medium and mixed it thoroughly together, then put the soil inside the bottles. This is so the roots don't dry out and you don't have to wait 15-40 minutes for the water to thoroughly soak the soil.

Dig a small hole in the center of the soil, and gently place a seedling inside, making sure to fill any remaining space with wet soil and packing them down lightly with your fingers so the plant is anchored in place.


I placed all of the bottles into the cutouts except one, and filled the milk jug with liquid hydroponic nutrient medium, making sure that there was almost enough to completely submerge the holes on the bottom and side of each container. Then, I added the last bottle and made sure the new displaced water level was high enough to cover the bottom of the bottles, but still low enough to not overflow.


That's it! I now have another hydroponic system made out of recyclable materials and the ability to grow four more vegetables. I highly recommend you try this out - it's incredibly rewarding, and allows you to use your creativity when designing your own system. Quarantine can be a little boring, and being able to build something cool with your hands is a great way to pass the time.


If you do end up trying this, be sure to let us know how it goes at troyyouthef@gmail.com. We're looking forward to hearing from you!

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page